Fallow Ground

image

Having been tasked with clearing the dead things from a neighbor’s garden, I wander the aisles of a store seeking a kaiser blade.

I am informed by a clerk where they would be, but as she says, Christmas has “taken over everything.”

Indeed, it has.

At least, the fake trees, blow-up snow men, and glitter-covered snowflakes that seem to constitute the essence of Christmas nowadays have, the loud decorations anathema to that long ago Silent Night.

Though I walk the totality of the store thrice, the tools I seek to prepare the planted ground for the coming of winter are nowhere to be found.

I leave empty-handed, my soul disquieted, with the vague uneasiness that something precious has been disrupted.

Outside the sky is gray and I wonder why I am suddenly so cold.

November 17, 2015

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.