Sinere te ab improbis opprimi, nolite te bastardes carborundorum, ut sis servus ad omnes

Years ago, my mother gave a talk on what it means to be a servant. The Doubter, the Denier, and the Traitor all sat down at the table, and each had their feet washed by their Master.

I am pretty good at serving and taking care of myself, my family, and my friends.

But Jesus washed the feet of all of his disciples, even those of the one who would betray him.

Am I willing to serve the backstabbers, those who make me angry, my enemies, the stranger? Do I go the extra mile for others, for my colleagues at work, even for those I am close to?

Do I take the parking space closest to the door or do I park far away so that another can have that space?

In everything I do, do I give consideration to the other before me?

Am I trying to be first, or am I content to be last?

There is a popular phrase in pseudo-Latin found in The Handmaid’s Tale: Nolite te bastardes carborundorum “Don’t let the bastards (I’ll say jerks) get you down.” The book is powerful, and there is some truth to the phrase. But its popularization more closely reflects the “me first, stand up for the individual, hate your enemy, vengeance, look out for your own” values of our culture.

If we take seriously the call to be servants, then we are asked to go further.

From Sinere te ab improbis opprimi
(Do not allow yourself to be overwhelmed by the wicked) to
Ut sis servus ad omnes
(Be a servant to everyone).

In other words, LET the jerks get you down.

Down your knees in prayer for everyone, including those you may disagree with.

Down on your knees in service to everyone, including those who may make you uncomfortable.

That can be a hard word to hear. But deep within me it rings very true.

I pray that I, and all of us, would have a Servant’s Heart, the heart of Jesus, in all that we say and do.

November 19, 2007

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.